Meet You There

Hi, I’m Katie. See there I am at Julia Child’s kitchen at the National Museum of American History.

I never thought that I would have a blog.  However,  I started reading A LOT of them obsessively.  It helped to keep my mind off silly things like my grade point average or whatever dribble my biology professor was spouting during class.  Like magazines (my love and hopeful career path), they let me escape.  I get to walk the streets of Paris or New York in fashion week.  I get to be inspired my the amazing seamstresses that grace the blogosphere.  I get to salivate over ingenious and beautifully photographed meals.  I get to see the world through someone else’s lense.  I also get to put this on my resume under “samples” that I woefully lack at the moment (but that should be changing soon).

So, with this blog I want to be a better writer, a better seamstress, a better cook, and most importantly a better servant to mankind.  I want to spread love, and I can do that through a three-tiered birthday cake or a handmade apron.  With my hands, I can create pretty things that make others and myself happy.  When I look down at my hands, I am happy to see my nails are polished in a deep glossy navy.  Chinatown to be exact.  It’s a $2.00 bottle of nail polish, but it makes me feel powerful and a little sassy.  That may sound silly, but it helps to inspire me and gives me a little extra something special.  I want to show you all that inspires me, and hopefully it will ignite something for those who read this.

Oh and the song that I have been playing on repeat since summer started (seriously every time I’m in my car I just play track 5 over and over) is Meet You There by Augustana.  It is wonderful!

Leave a Reply

