Oh Julia!

I love Julie and Julia!  I want to cook through a cookbook too! I want to blog about it and get a book deal and a movie!  I feel a little phony with my love because I should have loved the incredible Julia Child way before I saw the movie last year, but I can’t know about everything before it becomes popular.  Before I knew of Mrs. Child’s greatness, I let Mastering the Art of French Cooking escape me at a yard sale for $1 and have been kicking myself ever since. But more than anything I want to have Julia Child’s cooking skills and amazing kitchen.  While in DC this summer, I saw first hand how lovely it is.

I love the colors and all of the pots and pans.  I have a bit of an obession with buying plates, bowls, and glasses (anything one would use in the kitchen really).  I went with my friend Kayla in search of decor for her room in our apartment next semester.  We ended up at Apple Barrel Antiques in Bremen.  In one of the booths, we found a great set of Pyrex mixing bowls.  Kayla loves them obviously.

There was also the best collection of old kitchen accoutrements.

I love the teal colors!


I really want enamel pots.  I feel that every time I see old photos of people cooking, enamel cookware is always present.


Once I have the money and space, I can buy as much crockery as my heart desires.  Until then I can dream about a beautiful kitchen filled with antique enamel pots, Pyrex casserole dishes, and Fire King mixing bowls in the most beautiful shades of teal and lime.

2 Responses to “Oh Julia!”

  1. You know that you own a casserole dish just like the one in the top corner of the picture under Kayla. As a matter of fact, you own two. Love your pictures. They make me happy too!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

