Green Bean Chips

I went to Publix with mi mamá, and found veggie chips.  I like all of them, and the mummsy loved the green beans.  So what did  I decide to do?  Why recreate them myself of course!  I dug out the dehydrator from the garage.

We thought dehydrating them first would be a good idea, and then baking them to create the perfect “chip”.  I purchased the green beans from the wonderful Farmers Fresh CSA. I love fresh food.  When I found about the CSA, I did a little dance.  In the store.  Knowing that the food was picked a couple of days ago by people who live no more than 50 miles from me, makes me almost as happy as getting $70 shoes for $9.  The less waste I make the happier I am, so no more processed potato chips! I now have locally grown green bean chips!

They really shrink up! Of course that could have been because I forgot about them overnight.  I don’t recommend dehydrating them for 24 hours.

Green Bean Chips – Katie Lindley

  • Green beans
  • Olive oil
  • Salt
  • Rosemary
  • Garlic powder

Dehydrate green beans for about 12 hours.  (I haven’t tried them in the oven, but you might be able to get the same results with a high temperature oven. If you do try it, tell me how it turns out) In a bowl, cover in enough olive oil to coat them.  Sprinkle rosemary, salt, and garlic powder on top to taste.  Mix and let sit for about 10 minutes then lay out to drain on a paper tower covered cookie sheet.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

