Mmmm Banana Bars

So I have been quite lazy sewing wise and have yet to make anymore aprons.  Oh my! So instead I will assuage my  guilt my baking!  I made Gooey Butter Cake for my sister to bribe people to like her (well sort of and because she’s nice), and I also made banana bars.  I will share these with you A) because I actually took half decent pictures of them B) because they are healthy AND delicious and C) because I felt really cool changing the recipe and it turned out well.

Cooking is great for improvising.  If you don’t like rosemary, you don’t have to add it to your rosemary chicken.  You can make it basil chicken.  A little bit of this and a little bit of that tossed over a flame can become a great meal without much thought or incredible talent.  On the other hand if mess up with the amount of baking powder you decide to use, the cookies, cake, or brownies you want could explode (okay maybe not, but I like to dramatize things.  And wouldn’t exploding brownies be a little bit funny?)  The point is, chemistry has its evil hand in baking much to my chagrin ( Sorry Mrs. Bradford-Hunt, but you an I both know chemistry is just not my thing!)  I don’t get to just throw stuff, take stuff out, or mess with the fat to flour ratio.

I decided today I would try, and we had REALLY ripe bananas that NOBODY was going to eat in their state.  So out comes the stained recipe for banana bars from my favorite cookie cookbook: Better Homes and Garden’s The Ultimate Cookie Book.  On page 404, I began my journey to the unknown (see, I love the drama. :) It’s the reason I love the Real Housewives series.  I know they’re crazy, but I can’t help myself) I digress.  I want something that didn’t make me feel so bad about eating it.  I would make swaps where I could and I hope that I made up for it with some other swaps so it wouldn’t taste like cardboard.  I say it was a success! I hope you make them and enjoy them.  Hey with the bananas you get a serving for fruit right? ;)

Banana Bars – adapted heavily from The Ultimate Cookie Book

  • 1/2 cup and a little bit butter, softened
  • 1 1/3-1/2 cup dark brown sugar (depending on your sweetness tolerance)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1 and a little bit cup of mashed bananas
  • about a 1/2 cup light sour cream
  • splash of vanilla extract
  • 2 cups whole wheat flour (if you don’t like whole wheat you can cut in all purpose flour)
  • Icing of your choice ( I chose powdered sugar mixed with milk)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Lightly grease baking dish.  9×13 and the like work well.  Beat butter until creamy.  Add sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  Beat until mixed well.  Beat in egg, banana, sour cream, and vanilla.  Stir in flour (I recommend this instead of beating because it doesn’t make a mess, but I beat it with the mixer near the end to make sure everything is well blended).  Bake about 30 minutes or until a toothpick poked in the center comes out clean.  Add icing, cut, and savor!

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

